Spaghettini & Meatballs from scratch…well almost!

Spaghettini & Meatballs

Everything but the spaghettini noodle itself was made from scratch! I’m very proud of this because one thing you need to know about me is that everything I cook or bake has a 50/50 chance of turning out to be something edible or something completely inedible! I don’t have a detailed recipe for this because I can’t stand following recipes. I added ingredients that I thought would go well together and thankfully, for this dish, everything turned out great! I wasn’t even intending on making the sauce from scratch but I had none and was too lazy to go out to buy some.

So what’s in there? I’m not sure. Haha. This is all from my memory.

  • Spaghettini or regular spaghetti or whatever pasta you like to eat with your meatballs.
    • Make them al dente and set them aside until sauce & meatballs are done.
  • Pasta sauce. This is a chunky pasta sauce. If you don’t like chunks in your pasta sauce then I’d suggest putting everything through a blender of sorts (magic bullet is your best friend).
    • 5 roma tomatoes (I don’t think they have to be roma. Could be regular tomatoes I think? Who knows)
    • Olive Oil
    • Minced garlic
    • Onions (finely chopped)
    • Cilantro (finely chopped). Add this near the end after the tomatoes become saucey. You could also use Parsley.
    • Salt
    • Sugar
    • A dash of tabasco sauce. Or a lot of it. Or none of it. Totally up to your taste buds.
    • Spinach. This is totally optional. I wanted some greens in the dish so I decided to add this to the pasta sauce in the end.
  • Meatballs (14 golf ball size)
    • Extra Lean Ground Beef (I’ve seen recipes use a combo of beef, pork and veal or turkey. But you can use whatever type of minced/ground meat you desire)
    • 1 egg (maybe more than 1 egg if you’re making more meatballs? who knows.)
    • Olive oil
    • Sugar or Honey. I used a combo of both.
    • Salt & Pepper
    • Worcestershire sauce
    • Cilantro / Parsley (finely chopped)
    • Almond meal. Here’s the funny thing. I had no bread crumbs or crackers. But I had almond meal from the time I tried making macarons. And you know what? It works!! Maybe this is my secret ingredient…hmm…
    • Water chestnuts (chopped up into bits)
    • Minced garlic
    • Onion (finely chopped)
    • Mix that all together in a bowl and start making those golf balls! Anything bigger than a golf ball might be tough to cook though – but hey! I’m all for experimenting. But maybe nothing like a basketball sized meatball. That might be scary. Anyways.
    • Oh yea, I also added some cheese inside each of the meatballs.
    • Pan fry them with some olive oil “until they are nice and golden brown”. (I’ve always wanted to say that. I see it in recipes and cookbooks all the time!)
Leave a Reply

