Hallstatt…is…where?

Hallstatt, Austria: Prior to my Europe trip I had zero knowledge of Hallstatt. I didn’t know where it was, or why my friend had even suggested Hallstatt as one of our stops. But after doing a quick Google search, I knew instantly that we needed to go there. Like all small towns, it was quite difficult to get to but I’m glad we stuck with it. Actually according to Wiki it’s more of a village than a town (although I’m not quite sure what makes a village a village and what makes a town a town – but that’s another story). For those who are planning a trip to Austria going from Salzburg to Vienna or vice versa, I would highly recommend making a pit stop in Hallstatt. It is possible to do a day trip from either of those cities, but it’s nice to have at least a full day to stroll around the small town, go up to the salt mines, relax at a cafe by the lake and soak in the views. The best thing about small villages and small towns that are “off the beaten track” is that you won’t find a McDonalds or a Starbucks (although I did frequent these places throughout my Europe trip). Would I go back to Hallstatt again? Yes – if  I get the chance to cross off most of the other places on my bucket list first, I would definitely consider spending some time in Hallstatt again.

>>> Hallstatt Photos <<<
4 thoughts on “Hallstatt…is…where?

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! Although the photos are nice, it really is much more beautiful in person. Hope you get to make a trip there sometime soon! =)

Leave a Reply

