Bun Bo Hue

I’ve decided to go on a Bun Bo Hue (spicy pho) adventure! I don’t know why but I’ve had spicy pho for three days straight. So…because of this I’ve decided to go on a spicy pho journey. Tiny disclaimer, I am not Vietnamese so I’m just describing what my taste buds tell me. Anyways, here are the first three Bun Bo Hue.

PhoThaiHoa
#1. Pho Thai Hoa. I absolutely LOVED the soup. It was strange that it came with red/purple cabbage but it wasn’t a big deal. Would I go back again? Definitely.
****** UPDATE****** Went to Pho Thai Hoa for lunch and ordered the BBH but unfortunately it didn’t taste as great as the first time, which makes me feel they’re not consistently good. I do like the variety of items on their menu, but I don’t know if I’ll be in a hurry to go back there again.

CafeXuHue#2. Cafe Xu Hue. According to Yelp they have the best Bun Bo Hue in Vancouver. The plate of bean sprouts came with banana blossoms which paired really well with the soup. This was a bit more expensive at $8.50/bowl but for that price it came with A LOT of good meat. Would I go back again? Yes.

Pho99
#3. Pho 99. I’ve been to Pho99 before for their regular pho but never for their BBH. I thought I’d give it a try, but now I wish I hadn’t! It wasn’t much of a spicy pho. As I mentioned in the beginning, I’m not an expert on what’s authentic or not, but I don’t think I’d order this dish again. Would I go back again? Maybe. But I would order their regular pho dishes.

Leave a Reply

